Rosewood Primary School Believe, Enjoy, Succeed Together - B.E.S.T.


Promoting Protected Characteristics




The Equality Act became law in 2010. It covers everyone in Britain and protects people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation because of the protected characteristics that we all have.


Under the Equality Act, there are nine protected characteristics:

  1. Age
  2. Disability
  3. Gender reassignment
  4. Race -  including colour, nationality, ethnic or national origin
  5. Religion or belief
  6. Marriage or civil partnership
  7. Sex
  8. Sexual orientation
  9. Pregnancy and maternity


No form of discrimination is tolerated at Rosewood Primary School and our pupils show respect for those who share the protected characteristics. 


We do not teach about all the protected characteristics in every year group. The curriculum is planned and delivered so that our pupils develop age appropriate knowledge and understanding during their time at Rosewood Primary School. 


The 9 Protected Characteristics are actively promoted in school through:
•Our school ethos, SIP, and SEF
•Our school core values
•Our school behaviour policy
•Conscious role modelling by all adults in the school community
•Active engagement and communication with parents and carers
•Picture News
•Discussion within curriculum subjects, taking across-curricular approach
•Promoting articulation by building appropriate language and a coherent vocabulary
•Personal, Social, Health and Economic education (PSHE) sessions

•Religious Education (RE) lessons,RSE lessons,
•Pupil Voice
•Educational visits
•School council
•Extra-curricular activities, after-school clubs, charity workand work within the local community

Protected characteristics

The Equality Act 2010 protects us all by making it against the law to discriminate or harass someone because of a protected characteristic. We all have more than one of the nine protected characteristics. This short film explains what they are. Find out more on our website:

We have a tree display where each of the protected characteristics are represented with a branch and book covers with stories on this theme. The books  can be found in our school library.